02/15/2014 6:00pm

What: Paul Rodgers CD Release Party for "The Royal Sessions!"

Where: Stax Museum of American Soul Music, 926 E. McLemore, Memphis, TN

When: Saturday, February 15, 2014, 6 -8 pm

Admission: FREE with purchase of "The Royal Sessions" CD or $10 admission without purchase

Extra: Paul Rodgers and Music Producer Perry Margouleff are donating 100 percent of their share of the CD sales to the Stax Music Academy, and not just from this event.

Click HERE to visit Paul's website and HERE to connect with Paul on Facebook!




Bad Company’s Founding Member Singer, Songwriter & Multi-Instrumentalist Records Versions Of Classic Songs At Memphis’ Royal Studios With Original Session Musicians.

Santa Monica, CA:  Paul Rodgers, longtime singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist with Bad Company, has partnered with 429 Records and is gearing up for the release of “The Royal Sessions”—a lovingly crafted collection of classic R&B and soul songs re-imagined by the iconic rock singer recorded at Memphis’ Royal Studios, historic home of Willie Mitchell and Hi Records, with many of the musicians who played on the original tracks.  Truly a lifetime in the making, Rodgers has come full circle with “The Royal Sessions” as he pays homage to the legendary hits he collected on 45s released on Stax/Volt, Goldwax and Hi Records—recordings by Otis Redding, Albert King and Ann Peebles which made such an indelible impression on the young Rodgers inspiring him to pursue a career as a singer.  Produced by Perry Margouleff, “The Royal Sessions” is an extraordinary recording which captures the music in its pure form—live band and vocal takes as performed together at Royal Studios by Rodgers and an all-star roster of legendary musicians.  The band is a dream lineup of those who played on the original hits dating back to the 60’s.  The classic rhythm section includes Reverend Charles Hodges (Hammond B3), Michael Tolls (guitar), LeRoy Hodges Jr. (bass), “Hubby” Archie Turner (Wurlitzer), Steve Potts and James Robertson Sr. (drums), The Royal Horns and the Royal Singers.  “The Royal Sessions” will be released on 429 Records on February 4th.


“The Royal Sessions” is a remarkable project that came together as Rodgers was working on a solo record and producer Margouleff had just discovered that Royal Studios was still up and running under the auspices of Willie “Pops” Mitchell’s son Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell.  The opportunity to record in such a hallowed place with these hand picked musicians  was a dream come true.  The Memphis players forged an immediate bond with Rodgers when presented with his formidable talent and sincere love of the songs.  Deeply felt, powerfully sung and expertly played, it features a cross-section of material hand-picked by Rodgers, songs of great historical significance and personal meaning.   


Says Rodgers: “I really felt I had to get deeper inside myself than I ever had in my life. The end result is that recording these songs left me recharged as a singer and also as a songwriter. My favorite part was the love we could feel in the room throughout all the sessions. We all spoke the same language.”


Says Margouleff: “I wanted to make the most of this incredible opportunity so I recorded Paul and the band live in the studio.  We captured the pure energy of their performance. Recording in an all analogue format the sonic quality is unparalleled and the listener can experience the music on a deeper level.”


All of Rodgers’ and Margouleff’s  proceeds from “The Royal Sessions” will be donated to local Memphis music education programs.  Special showcase performances by Paul Rodgers with the musicians on “The Royal Sessions” will be announced.


“The Royal Sessions” track listing:


1)     I Thank You

2)     Down Don’t Bother Me

3)     I Can’t Stand The Rain

4)     I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)

5)     That’s How Strong My Love Is

6)     Walk On By

7)     Any Ole Way

8)     It’s Growing

9)     Born Under A Bad Sign

10)   Dreams To Remember


For more information, visit:


To preorder “The Royal Sessions” go to:


429 Records is a unit of The Savoy Label Group (SLG).  SLG is the North American based division of Nippon Columbia the oldest music company in Japan.  The Savoy Label Group has evolved into a Grammy Award winning and chart topping independent music company consistently outperforming competitors in key music categories as monitored by Billboard Magazine. The Savoy Label Group is led by Steve Vining and is based in Los Angeles, CA.


Larry Solters